Salad days

You might not think that these cold grey days lend themselves to salad, but for me they are all about coleslaw.  Not the stuff you buy expensively in plastic packs at the supermarket, but the stuff I make myself for myself.

2015-01-07 12.37.50

The colours sing – red cabbage, white cabbage, carrots, beetroot.  The act of standing slicing and grating is relaxing.

2015-01-07 12.16.04

Standing in front of the window, a cup of tea by my side, slicing and thinking.  Such a soothing activity.

2015-01-07 12.23.33

I always make far more than I need that day.  Enough for several days at least.

2015-01-07 12.25.37

It keeps really well in a plastic box in the fridge.  The ingredients change depending on what’s available and what I fancy.  Celeriac, brussels sprouts, apple might also find their way in there.

2015-01-07 12.38.24

Each day I dish myself up a large bowl and add a dressing and maybe a topping.  My preferred dressing is simply balsamic vinegar.  Malcolm prefers mayo.  Oil and vinegar go well.  A Thai inspired dressing goes well with raw peanuts as a topping.  Other toppings are toasted seeds, or dried fruit.  Nothing ‘plain’ or ‘boring’ about this salad.

Lucky me, I can buy all these ingredients produced locally, at our local Farmer’s Market and at sensible prices.  The carrots are the only vegetables here not from there at this time of year.

No recipe needed, just a knife, some raw ingredients, a few minutes preparation, and your imagination.  And a lot tastier and cheaper than buying ready made from the supermarket.  Happy eating!

What salads can you make in winter from local ingredients?

 

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in Food, Frugal, Local food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

