Growing where I’m planted

A phrase I’ve come across many times, no idea where it comes from but it resonates with me.  First of all, I love to grow stuff. But secondly, and more generally, it says something about how I see my life.

I spent the first years of my life in London, then moved to Bath with my family when I was nearly 14.  At the time I felt uprooted, out of place, torn from everything I knew.  It was hard.  I was here for 4 years then left to go to university and made my home in other places.

So it came as a great surprise to me that when, some years later, Malcolm and I returned to live here with our young children, I felt like I’d ‘come home’.

2014-12-25 21.48.49

For many years we have regularly visited our friends in Denmark.  How I loved their life there – the enjoyment of home, the growing, the baking, the hens, the Danish style, the knitting, the strong community.  The hygge*.  I wished and wished we could live there, do that, have that life.  But it was’t a realistic possibility for us (or more honestly, we just made other choices).

2014-12-22 21.46.55

Then gradually, gradually, it dawned on me that I could have all of that right where I am.  I just needed to do it, to make it happen rather than plug into something that was already there.  I’ve been doing it now for over 20 years.

2015-01-10 15.34.42

I started to bake all our own bread, I took up knitting again.   Later the hens came along, we grow more and more of our own fruit and vegetables.  We make the small extra effort to bring hygge to our home.  We have good neighbours and friends, we’re part of our local community.

2014-08-08 14.56.48

2014-08-08 15.24.09

I’m still growing where I’m planted.  And I love my life.  Lucky lucky me.

 

* Hygge: difficult to define, but an integral part of Danish life and community.  Cosiness, homeliness, comfort come close but don’t really quite get there.

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in Reflections on life (and death) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Growing where I’m planted

  1. Jackie says:

    Hello. Just found your blog. This post sums up a lot of stuff that I’ve been thinking too (though not about Denmark). It’s surprising what you can do if you you just decide to do it.

    Like

    • Hello back! so nice to realise I’m not a lone voice… And since I’ve started writing this blog and trying out new stuff I’m astonished at how much I’m learning. I’m enjoying it a lot, and so nice to ‘meet’ other kindred spirits.

      Like

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

