Winter sunshine

Monday was a tough day.  We had some difficult things to get through.  But the sun was shining and the sky was a brilliant blue, so when all the hard stuff was done with I took myself out to my allotment with my bag of blanket and just sat and enjoyed that sunshine and warmth.

2015-02-18 16.01.35

I knew there was a reason I’d made this little cozy corner by the shed – this was it.

An hour sitting taking in the last of the afternoon sun, planning the crops and the flowers I’ll have here as the year goes by, watching my ripple blanket grow (so fast! what a perfect project – almost instant gratification!), warmed by the sun and the blanket.  Reflecting on what we have lost and what we have gained.  Life and death matters.  A quiet solitary meditation.

2015-02-18 15.52.15

Perfect.

Where do you find your solitude?

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in 60th year, Craft, Growing, Reflections on life (and death) and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

