Three bags full

As usual on Saturday morning, today I went into town to get most of the food shopping I need for the following week.  I haven’t got much on the allotment at the moment, so I headed to the Farmers Market.

This week: lettuce, purple sprouting, and a small cauliflower

This week: lettuce, purple sprouting, and a small cauliflower

When I got home I had fun pottering around the kitchen for half an hour or so preparing the vegetables ready to use when needed.

I washed and cut them up as needed, then put them into plastic bags to be stored in the fridge until needed.

2015-03-21 13.11.04

The lettuce will easily keep for a fortnight (though it will probably all be used this week).  At £1.20, it’s cheaper and much fresher and tastier than those pre-washed bags from the supermarket which are pumped full of chemicals to make them last longer.

Purple sprouting

Purple sprouting

Cauliflower

Cauliflower

Some will be used this weekend.  The rest will be the starting point for our meals during the week.  I’m thinking maybe roasted cauliflower and purple sprouting; and maybe a pasta and vegetable cheese bake.  And there will probably be a soup in there somewhere.

Three bags full....

Three bags full….

In the meantime, all of it will keep really well in the fridge, staying fresh and crisp.

How do your store your veg?

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in Food, Frugal, Local, Local food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

