Oops!

Detail from my noticeboard - postcard I bought early 1980s

Detail from my noticeboard – postcard I bought early 1980s

Once upon a time I had three of these.

2015-03-23 12.00.28

And very useful they were, too.

Until.

After the Big Hen Move and all the allotment development I had a big pile of rotting wood, tree bits too small to use, fruit bush clippings, and various bits and pieces.  An allotment neighbour added her stuff to the pile, in her bid to get to grips with a plot that has been neglected for years.  The weather was dry and sunny, no-one had washing on the line – the perfect opportunity for a bonfire.

I moved it all well away from my plot, and the fire got going really well.  I spent the afternoon feeding and tending it, joined along the way for a good natter with a good friend as we sat enjoying the warmth of the bonfire in the cooler afternoon.

I made sure it was properly burnt out and left it overnight, then after the eclipse gathering, late in the morning, I thought I should clear away the ashes and debris.  It all seemed to be properly cool.  Should it go onto the fruit bushes?  I decided there was too much for that.  Instead I added it to my compost heap, in the plastic bin.

You can see the end of this tale already, can’t you.

2015-03-23 10.58.09

2015-03-23 10.57.59

Yes, the ashes must have been a whole lot hotter than I realised.  When I came back several hours later, this is what I found.  One bin had completely vanished (where to? I have no idea).  Another other melted almost beyond recognition.

Somehow I don’t think I’ll make that mistake again.

Fortunately I still have one bin left.  Sadly for youngest son and daughter-in-law – I had planned to give it to them for the allotment they hope to get soon.  They’re going to have to make or find their own bin now.

 

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in Allotment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

