Seeing differently: strolling along Walcot Street

A stroll along Walcot Street earlier this week.

Victorian fountain and horse trough

Victorian fountain and horse trough

Victorian water fountain

Victorian water fountain

2015-03-26 16.27.35 HDR

Wall-mounted holloway, by Stanley Donwood

Wall-mounted holloway, by Stanley Donwood

Detail of holloway

Detail of holloway

Just some of the art you can see if you wander along Walcot Street.  If your appetite is whetted, you can find more on this council leaflet.

Though I had to search the internet and send an email to find out the name of the artist of the glorious hoarding-sized piece of wall art – Stanley Donwood.  Find out more about him and his work here.  I thought I recognised it from the very beautiful book* he, Robert Macfarlane (writer), Dan Richards ( (writer), and Richard Lawrence (printmaker) made called Holloway.

Front cover

Front cover

Back cover

The print was put up last year for the Bath Fringe Festival and has stayed there since.  Enjoy it while it lasts – sadly it is now showing some small signs of wear.  Unlike the Victorian water fountain and horse trough, which has been beautifully restored to its former glory.

* unlike most blogs, I won’t ever link from a book to Amazon.  I am part of the boycott in protest at their avoidance of taxes.  Instead I hope you might look for books at your local library, or in your local (independent) bookshop – most independent bookshops will order anything for you, and ours even gives discounts where they can obtain a book with a reduction.

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in Bath, Local, Walking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Seeing differently: strolling along Walcot Street

  1. It’s great to see art on the street. Shame it’s fading a bit. I keep meaning to visit bath. So many museums there I’d like to see.

    Like

    • Hi Katharine,
      Thanks for dropping by. Yes, there is masses to see in Bath, its a great place to visit – do come!
      I’ve just popped over to your blog – it’s fascinating, I shall come over later for a proper visit.

      Like

  2. Love the post on Walcot Street and so pleased you mentioned the Stanley Donwood picture of a holloway. I found the book you mention in the Corsham Bookshop and was delighted to give it to my husband for Christmas as he loves the ‘Rogue Male’ book by Geoffrey Husband that inspired the holloway book. Since reading it I’ve been looking for ‘holloways’ in the Wiltshire countryside!

    Like

    • Hi Kathryn, yes, Walcot Street has always been one of my favourite bits of central Bath. I think its a real shame that Stanley Donwood isn’t credited with this lovely and very prominent piece of art.

      Yes, I’ve also become much more aware of holloways, and I’ve also wondered about Holloway in Bath (you might know it, it goes up to Bear Flat – though I;ve always understood the name there to be derived from Holy Way).

      Liked by 1 person

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

