A month of: poetry party (April)

On my list of things I’d like to do more of is reading poetry.  Why has it stayed there for so long without me doing anything about it?  I can think of several reasons excuses, but none of them really take me any further forward.  So – I evidently need a new strategy.

A month of poetry.

First published 1950.  This edition 1968

First published 1950. This edition 1968

I have decided that this year April will be poetry month.  Each day I will read a poem.  Just the one.  I expect to greet some old friends, get to know some nodding acquaintances a bit better, and meet a few new poems along the way.

I was nudged along the way by coming across this song (A Million Thoughts a Minute) recently released by my talented nephew’s band (The Future Rays).  It includes a few lines from Robert Frost’s poem Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Day – one of my favourites – and got me reaching the book down from its shelf.

I know that Robert Frost, William Blake, Thomas Hardy, ee cummings, and TS Elliot will all be there.  I wonder who else I’ll meet at this party?  Do join me if you’d like to, you’re most welcome.

2015-03-29 16.51.54

There may even be cake.

To start things off, the first poem that caught my eye today was April Rise, by Laurie Lee.  How very appropriate.

If you’ve any suggestions, please let me know and I’ll see if I can invite them (and you) along.

 

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in Poetry party, Reflections on life (and death) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

