May’s challenge update: procrastination

Here we are at the end of the month, and what have I done?  Well, it turns out quite a lot actually.

2015-05-03 16.51.45

For starters I tackled the Basket of Doom.  Ha!  I was embarrassed at how little time that took to get through.  Three quarters of an hour.  45 minutes.  That’s all.

Plus of course the six months or so (or more) to get round to it.

Despite looking like it was spilling over with things shouting for my attention, all it contained was quite a bit to file away (some of it in the bin); a few things to respond to or pay; and not much else.  The four mending items took me about 20 minutes in all to deal with and put away.

Then of course I started my Long Walk, and I managed to do half of the whole thing.  That has taken me almost a year to get started on, and 5 days to do.  There were good reasons for postponing before, but no good reasons for postponing any longer.  I just needed the resolve to be selfish about taking the time just for myself.  And I loved it all.  I can’t wait till I can go back and do the next part of the walk.

I also managed to finish not just one but two ripple blankets, and gave both away as birthday presents.  I got as much pleasure from giving them away as I did from making them, and I feel confident about the next one I will start shortly.

2015-05-17 17.20.30

Finally, I did the jobs I wanted and needed to do on the allotment and in the garden.  I’m not even sure what the barrier was to doing this sooner.

2015-05-25 16.33.52

2015-05-25 14.55.59

I didn’t make a start on the Filing Basket of Doom. Yet.  But I did start to cultivate a habit of filing away paperwork when it’s dealt with, instead of casting it into filing purgatory.

Getting to grips with procrastination is still a work in progress, but one I plan to carry on practising.  Not least of all because I find there is great satisfaction in having done things.  I think the trick lies in finding a balance between setting a plan and sticking to it; and setting a plan but being willing and open to alter it for good reason – sometimes putting something off is more important than doing it; sometimes just getting on with is the right and best thing.  Being honest with myself about which is which is the learning part.

So – on to June!

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in 60th year, Reflections on life (and death), Seeing differently and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May’s challenge update: procrastination

  1. Marian says:

    It’s always amazing to me how disproportionately good it feels to tackle those little, lingering jobs! And I love seeing the progress in your allotment; I just planted our veggie garden this past weekend!

    Like

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

