June’s challenge: language learning and running

But not both at the same time.

It’s a while since I went out running, too long.  Always some ‘good‘ reason why not.  But actually the reasons to run are far better.  And now there’s the added incentive that a few of us have agreed to run the Race for Life together early in July, in memory of our good friend Deborah (as well as other good friends and a cousin lost along the way to breast cancer, and another cousin ill with it right now).

2015-03-15 15.44.01

I’ve never been a consistent or a strong runner, and until relatively recently I had never run at all.  But I have in my time done two half marathons (never again!), and a 10k race, and I do enjoy running, especially on my own and with no particular goal other than personal ones.  And now that we have the Two Tunnels Greenway as well as the canal towpath so close to home, and the weather is good, and the days are long, and I have time to spare, well, what on earth could be the ‘good’ reason that would stop me?

And language learning?  well, ever since I started learning French at school I have loved learning and speaking foreign languages.  My French is good, but I have lost most of the Spanish I was once so good at.  I have been teaching myself a little German and Italian over the past few years, but frustratingly little – just enough to get by in a shop, not enough to have a proper conversation with any of the interesting people I’ve met in Germany or Italy.

2014-05-08 11.25.31

The only time my Spanish emerges is when I try to speak Italian, and from nowhere it all comes out, ruining my attempt to converse in Italian (though we do communicate, just not in the same language).

So, this month I will actually do something about it – a bit of German every single day.  I have a set of CDs and some books that I’ve used in the past and found helpful, and I’ve also come across a good internet resource called Slow German.   And while I’m in Germany for a holiday I’ll use every opportunity to practice.

Maybe by the end of the month I will have learnt something useful.  I hope so.

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in 60th year, Reflections on life (and death) and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to June’s challenge: language learning and running

  1. Sam says:

    The Race for Life is a great event – I’ve done it a few times. My daughter (who’s 11) wants to do it so I’ll have to dust my trainers off and get running with her. I’m very impressed at your motivation and efficient thinking!

    Like

    • Oh well, we can run together! in spirit if not in real life.
      I’m spurred on by the thought of your 11 year old wanting to do it – what inspiration from her mum! One of my few regrets in life is not having discovered running at an earlier age – sadly I was a girl who delighted in having been missed off the class list for games, which meant I spent a year hiding in the cloakrooms reading instead of playing any sport. Took me another 35 years to realise what I was missing. Oh dear.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jackie says:

    ..but at least you did lots of reading. Good luck with the running and the languages

    Like

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

