Come into the garden (and not just Maud)*

As we walked up an isolated road from the valley village to the high forest we came across a house with a beautiful rose garden.  We admired it from the road, and took photos.  Then, as we walked on, to our surprise and delight we saw this sign by the gate:

2015-06-08 10.12.19

The garden gate is open for all to come in

An invitation to enter and enjoy.  What generosity! Of course, we could do no other.

LREdit--4933

LREdit--4943LREdit--4947Inside we found a peaceful space packed with a mix of  roses, other flowers, salad plants, soft fruit, top fruit and vines.

Roses everywhere, with lettuces, tomatoes, gooseberries, redcurrant, quinces, kiwi, grape vines, raspberries, all in abundance.

2015-06-08 10.09.57

2015-06-08 10.07.18

LREdit--4940

It was astonishing to see how much there was in so small a space.

LREdit--4950

LREdit--4953

LREdit--4951

LREdit--4954

2015-06-08 10.04.23

It’s the small things that bring joy to life

It seems we share the same outlook on life.  And on gardens.  Thank you so much, whoever you are.

And thank you Malcolm for the flower photos – soooo much better than anything I could manage.

* an allusion to this poem by Tennyson.

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in Community, Growing, Inspirations, Poetry party, Reflections on life (and death), Seeing differently, Travels, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Come into the garden (and not just Maud)*

  1. Cathy says:

    I’ve just discovered your blog through Jane Brocket. I think it’s lovely – and what a beautiful garden. It’s inspired me to go into mine and cut some roses to enjoy. Thank you

    Like

    • How lovely Cathy, thank you so much for taking the trouble to comment. And enjoy those roses! (I went back to the garden and found another sign saying ‘come into the garden, the roses need to be enjoyed’ – so I did).

      Like

  2. Lucille says:

    What a lovely generous idea. We have Open Gardens to visit for charity through the National Garden scheme but as ours was not on the trail, but looking particularly ravishing I did rather want to put a sign up saying ‘come in anyway’. Then someone pointed out a couple of safety hazards and I lost my nerve.

    Like

    • We do all seem to have become sadly risk averse don’t we. I’m planning to put some kind of invitation by my allotment when it’s done, as a starting point. In my working life risk assessment is a Big Thing, but I do always work hard to encourage people to focus on what’s reasonable and proportionate, not try to eliminate risk altogether. Maybe next time a sign telling people that they come in at their own risk, and do it anyway?

      Like

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

