A normal Saturday in Bath

Just a normal Saturday here in Bath. (This one was in mid September – I told you I had a backlog of posts).

Now that we no longer have to rush like crazy to get all the jobs done so we can go over to Bristol for our weekend care home visit,  weekend life has taken a pleasant and relaxed turn.  As illustrated by one particular Saturday a few weeks ago.

2015-09-12 12.01.28

  • Get up for a leisurely breakfast
  • Bake a small loaf of white sourdough so we’ve got some bread for lunch (dough taken out of freezer last night), and start a new batch of bread to bake later today
  • Coffee and i-pad to catch up on reading newspaper, emails, and a few favourite blogs
  • Write some cards to send – birthday, wedding congratulations, happy new home
  • Walk down to town for various bits of shopping

2015-09-12 12.03.30

  • Drop into the Allotment Association Trading Hut to renew subscription, and to buy new garlic bulbs and over-wintering onion sets.  Picked up seed catalogue – I always buy my seed potatoes and any new seed I want this way but normally I don’t get it till the last minute (late October) – this year I will truly be ahead of the game!
  • Along to the Bath Farmers Market – not much shopping needed today, as I’m away for quite a lot of this week, but I stocked up on good ground coffee, (from a small local roaster), and they were kind enough to give me an empty coffee sack – perfect for storing my potatoes from the allotment

2015-09-12 10.28.59

  • On to meet Malcolm for a (treat) coffee date – Chapel Arts Cafe is a nice, independent, relaxed place to meet, sit, and chat, and one of our favourite places (tip: their chocolate cake is ace, but very rich – best to share a slice!)
  • A little more mooching and browsing in town, buy some more yoghurt at Waitrose (my favourite, Yeo Valley – another local company), then home for lunch

2015-09-12 12.00.44

  • Bread and cheese, oh and of course cucumber, for lunch
  • Session with cup of tea and crochet
  • This weeks ironing listening to a play on R4
  • More crochet – almost finished this (3rd!) ripple blanket – should be in time for daughter-out-law’s birthday later this month
  • Collect eggs, feed and water hens
  • Pack bag for three days away from tomorrow – visit to ill aunt, then to friends overnight, then to oldest son and daughter-out-law to help get their new flat ready to move in to
  • Bake bread for this week.  Allow to cool, put three loaves in freezer
  • Relaxation time for the rest of the day! – what a luxury (and Malcolm always cooks dinner at the weekend )

2015-09-12 11.58.37

Well, maybe not a completely normal Saturday in Bath.  I won’t pretend that we see people dressed like this in our streets all the time.  Just once a year, when it’s time for the Jane Austen Festival.

2015-09-12 12.01.18

And on the odd occasion when that coincides with Bath Rugby playing at home, well I can tell you that is indeed an odd occasion.  Monty Python could have had a field day here.

 

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in Bath, Community, Family, Local, Local food, Seeing differently and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A normal Saturday in Bath

  1. Marian says:

    This is such a lovely post, Deborah! I’m having to try very hard not to be jealous of the history and spiritedness I see in the photos 😉 .

    Like

    • Ah but everywhere has (its own) history – it’s just that sometimes you have to work a lot harder to find it. We’re very fortunate that we don’t have to work hard at it at all, it comes up and bumps us on the nose all the time. And yes, we’re very very lucky!

      Like

  2. I agree that Bath can sometimes be a surreal city! I love it though – especially coming across the multitude of languages that you hear as you encounter tourists in the city centre. Last summer we pretended to be tourists and visited the Roman Baths by torchlight, which felt v special and made me realise how lucky we are to live here.

    Like

    • Yes, I love it too. And I love that you can expect the unexpected!
      Being tourists in your own city is such a good experience isn’t it. When I was at school I worked weekends at the Roman Baths and Pump Room, and I was able to access the ‘secret’ back office bits of it too, which was great.

      Like

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

