What to make next?

I’m feeling strangely bereft since I finished the latest crochet blanket.  I have plenty to knit, but no crochet project on the go right now. When I’m out working on the allotment, I find myself thinking about what should be the next crochet project.  I want to make another blanket.  I have a few requirements:

  • Ideally I want to use up some of the yarn I already have left over from previous projects
  • But I have to love the colour combinations, which I think may preclude using some of the ‘stash’
  • It has to be portable – so I think this is going to mean some kind of granny square, which I will join with a background colour

2016-05-02 10.37.49

I’ve been looking on the internet for colour and form inspiration, and have found lots, though so far nothing that shouts ‘yes!  make me!!’ loudly and clearly enough.  So I think the answer is to just begin, and see what happens.

On the knitting front, the lace shawl is coming along wonderfully well, and I’m on the last bit of knitting – edging the fourth border.  I am very pleased with the look and the feel of it, and I expect to finish it by the end of next week.  Then the final challenge will be to block it, which I remember from my previous efforts being a pain to do, but absolutely essential.  Once that’s done it will look very different.

2016-04-19 15.51.47

Then I’ll need to find out the best way to send it out safely to Australia.  Any suggestions gratefully received.

And while I’m asking for advice, does anyone know whether airlines allow knitting needles or crochet hooks in cabin luggage?  It’s a while since I’ve flown any distance, and I have no idea.  Do you know?  Please share!

In the meantime, while I search for the next portable crochet project, I’m doing some little bits of knitting for the City Farm shop – all using up odds and ends.  Another cot blanket, and several i-phone socks are on their way there soon.  So far we’ve sold a couple of the cot blankets and a hat, so although I’m a long way from raising the £500 I’m aiming at, I have raised £45 so far, which is at least a good start.

And to gladden your hearts, below are photos of a project I had no part in but loved seeing – the latest crochet project in central Bath led by Emma Leith, for this year’s Bath in Fashion Festival last month.   It raised a lot of money for our local hospital’s Cancer Care appeal (£2000 I think!)

2016-04-22 15.42.42

On display in the entrance to the library

2016-04-22 15.42.50

2016-04-22 16.13.01

2016-04-22 16.11.36

2016-04-22 16.14.01

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in Craft, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What to make next?

  1. Marian says:

    I can completely empathize with the “between projects” feeling of bereft-ness, Deborah. Were you thinking your new blanket must be a full-sized one? Because if not, perhaps you could use your leftover yarn to crochet a cot blanket to add to your fundraising efforts at the City Farm Shop? (I’m so pleased for you, that some of your pieces have sold!)

    The Yarn Harlot (a Canadian knitting blogger – have you heard of her?) has talked about taking her knitting on planes. But if I were you, I would call the airline just to be on the safe side (I wonder if they all might have their own rules). Without knowing for sure, I imagine a crochet hook would be the safest bet (they’re less pointy than a pen!), and even if you ran into a stickler at the security counter the loss of a crochet hook doesn’t pose the same sort of dilemma that the loss of knitting needles would (in a work in progress, I mean).

    Loved seeing the yarn installations in Bath — such wonderfully creative people out there, and in support of such a worth-while cause!

    Like

    • Good idea Marian, I think that’s what I’ll do. I could even try out a plastic crochet hook, just in case.
      The next blanket is indeed going to be a full sized one, for me again. We have a wooden summer-house in the garden where I love to spend the occasional lazy afternoon (and even the odd night), and a blanket to use there would be perfect. Depending on how the next one turns out, I’ll decide whether to put the Harmony blanket out there, or the new one.
      Emma who let the yarn installation is a real inspiration – a lovely person, an excellent teacher (I did a mosaic course with her earlier this year), and a talented artist. And it’s a lovely group who make the stuff. They meet once a month. I can’t get along there often these days as it clashes with my Farm volunteering, but I’m hoping to make some swaps later this year so I can do both.

      Like

  2. Sam says:

    I’ve had conflicting advice about knitting needles on planes, so I agree it’s probably best to check with the specific airline. Good luck with your next project; I look forward to seeing what you decide to create.

    Like

  3. Lucille says:

    I wondered this about knitting needles too. They seem to be allowed in hand luggage but airlines may differ in their opinions. I think my son wasn’t able to take them to Japan. Your shawl is a work of art. You wouldn’t want to have knitting confiscated.

    Like

    • Thanks Lucille. Happily on the airline we’re travelling with they are allowed, so now I’m trying to decide what project to take with me. It has to not weigh much, but be able to keep me occupied for a week. Which suggests knitting not crochet.

      Like

  4. Margaret Gibson says:

    Many airlines allow in flight knitting, crochet and stitching. Best to check with the airline concerned
    just to make sure.
    And keep your ball of yarn under control not like one of mine which went travelling down the aisle and was returned row by row by some slightly bemused business people
    Margaret, Aotearoa (New Zealand)

    Like

    • Oh thanks for this Margaret. Prompted by you I’ve done the sensible thing and looked up the rules on the airline I’m travelling with. Happy to find that knitting needles and crochet hooks are all allowed.
      And I’ll certainly try to keep my yarn under control! I laughed at the image of yours wandering off to explore. But rather subversive.

      Like

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

