While we’re away: a bit of a yarn

Who could resist the wonderful colours?  Certainly not me: when I’m away and visiting a market or strolling through a new town, I always search out the wool shops, the haberdasheries, the fabric stores and the market stalls.  Oh, and the fruit and vegetable stalls.

2015-09-05 10.12.09

Market haberdashery stall, Padova

And I’ve just remembered that in September in Fanoe they have a whole knitting festival!  (One day my friend??  you know who you are…..).  Plus they have several yarn stores on the island, of which Christel Sayfarth’s (see photo below) provided the most glorious of colours and designs (way beyond my ability though…).

2016-06-14 13.17.24

One of many amazing creations by Christel Seyfarth, to be seen in her shop on Fanie

2016-06-14 11.54.47

Over 80 and still running one of the town’s yarn shops. An inspiration!

2016-06-15 15.16.38

Detail from a Fanoe home/museum (hand knitted cotton towels)

LREdit--1010390

Detail inside Strik, Aarhus

LREdit--1010386

Detail inside Strik, Aarhus

2016-07-12 12.01.07

And let’s not forget the vegetables: beetroot on market stall, Freiburg

There’s always the temptation to buy, but it’s the overall effect that is so stunning, and somehow buying just one or two colours would be like choosing just one (or two) colours from the rainbow: it would miss the point.  Though as Malcolm would confirm, that rarely stops me.

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in Community, Craft, Inspirations, Seeing differently, Travels, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to While we’re away: a bit of a yarn

  1. wendoxford says:

    Hand knitted cotton towels…? REALLY?? How fab especially in shades of beetroot…

    Like

    • Yes – but these were part of a museum display – a house lived in by a woman very poor woman who was widowed early in the C19 and then her daughter, who moved out in 1965 leaving it intact. The towels date from her or her mother, I’m not sure which. Either way, I fell in love with the towels – their colours and their beautiful stitches.
      LOVE the idea of dying with beetroot – must look into that one! I have a very large quantity of undyed wool which I’m trying to think of a suitable use for. Maybe I should start experimenting with it. I want to use it to make some money for the City Farm I’m involved with.

      Like

  2. love the colours! And agree with the idea that they look so good because they’re all together.

    Like

  3. Gillian Roe says:

    So much goodness here, I loved this post. The yarn colours, those hand knitted cotton towels – they are really special. I want to go to Fanoe now.

    Like

  4. Lucille says:

    Those radishes stopped me in my tracks.

    Like

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

