And here’s to the NHS!

I never cease to marvel at the amazing legacy our grandparents and parents have given us, after the trauma and turmoil of two world wars – our National Health Service.

Yes, there are (many) things about it that could be better.  Yes, it has been hammered by successive Tory governments, and continues to be so.  Yes, it has been starved of training and goodwill for staff, and now has to rely on poaching staff from other countries.  But, but, but….

My extended family has good cause to be thankful for it.  My mother and my mother-in-law both received excellent care at different times in their lives for different problems.  Our children and their partners have at times needed to rely on it, and it has served them well.  I have recently had (minor) surgery to restore some lost vision and prevent further deterioration.  The treatment and care I received were speedy, effective and exemplary.

And none of us had to worry about paying for it, none of us had to fear the financial consequences of receiving medical care, or the health and other consequences of not being able to afford to do so.  None of us had to make those difficult choices, or were prevented from making choices because we simply couldn’t afford the necessary treatment.

A far cry from the place Big Business, Big Pharma, and much of the Tory Party and their friends would like us to be in.

I find all the talk of the ‘impossibility’ of continuing to fund the NHS in these ‘times of austerity’ completely unconvincing, especially when I recall the times in which it was first established.  On the contrary, we all make choices about how to spend whatever (much or little) money we have, and governments are no different in that.  Tax cuts? or increased tax paid by all, for increased benefits for those who need them?  We make the choice every time we vote.

As a society and as individuals, we can choose to see paying tax as a public good and something to be celebrated.  Because in my opinion paying tax and sharing out what we have more equally is the first step towards a fairer, more equal, healthier, happier, and ultimately safer and more cohesive society.

We listen and watch with envy the vast difference in the life chances between our children and their partners and friends, and those of our Danish friends (and indeed our nephew and his wife in Sweden).  We marvel at how the Danish ones have all been able to buy their own (modest but more than adequate) homes.  How (financially) free access to university and training courses have enabled them to achieve professional qualifications and find reasonably paid work with good working conditions.  How excellent maternity and paternity rights and pay have enabled them to have the children they dearly want.

But all that comes at a price.  They (and everyone else) pay far, far more in taxes then we do.

We could make that choice.  I would make that choice.  Would you?  If only our political system were such that those of us who do make that choice could have our voices heard, loud and clear.

And as for me, today, I’m rejoicing in the fact that my gradually reducing vision has been restored, that my world is brighter and bigger than I realised, and that I can now open my eyes when I want to.

Earlier this month, in the run up to the opening of the 2016 Olympics, we watched a fascinating BBC TV programme about the making of the opening ceremony for the 2012 Olympics.  We marvelled at the atmosphere of optimism and pride that we shared at that moment; and felt sad to see where the intervening 4 years have brought us.

But for now, let’s remember that astonishing opening ceremony, that moment when we came together and celebrated our country and our heritage, and most of all our NHS.

“Play the drum for your mum, and she’ll watch it on TV”.  

Boom boom.  So many dedicated volunteers, so much given for free.  If you want to relive it for a moment, watch it here.  And if you’re in the UK and would like to catch the TV programme, you can watch it here (an edition of the Imagine series).

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in Inspirations, Reflections on life (and death), Seeing differently, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And here’s to the NHS!

  1. Marian says:

    I can’t speak specifically to the NHS, but I can tell you that the points you make are just as valid for our Canadian health care system. Like you, I’m very grateful for it. Having lived in the US, and having had access to their private system (through my husband’s employer), I can say that we did receive excellent care … but it always seemed very, very wrong to me that so many people had to go without coverage because they couldn’t afford the premiums. I also agree, 100%, with your take on taxes, and had a hard time understanding the Americans I met during our time in the US who felt they were over-taxed! (When we were astounded at the low tax rates!)

    Like

  2. Penny L says:

    Here,here! Very well said. I think I may write to my local(Tory) M.P to make exactly those points! Perhaps everyone should! Penny Lxxx

    Like

    • Oh good idea! I think my local MP must be bored with getting letter from me, but I do believe that they take note of what it is we constituents are concerned about. After all, they want our votes! (though our’s will never ever get mine…)

      Like

  3. I would pay more taxes for more services, too. For all the inefficiencies of government services, they can often do better than the private sector, and legislation can ensure the quality of service.I love our health care system in Canada too. Even with its faults (i.e., waiting lists) it is better than the alternative. Happy to hear you have had a good medical outcome!

    Like

    • Exactly. My friends in Quebec are both doctors and are very positive about the health system here (including the one who trained and worked in the NHS).
      I think a lot of us would happily pay more for better services, but with our ‘first past the post’ electoral system mainly our voices aren’t counted these days.

      Like

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

