Playing with colour

You’ve probably noticed by now how much I enjoy colour.  Now I’m learning to play with it myself as well as enjoy other people’s games.  Learning by doing.

2017-02-06-14-36-02

I’ve been using odds and ends of yarn left over from other projects to make some simple squares to join for a multi-colour blanket of my own invention.  (I did need to buy a few extra balls, as there weren’t quite enough left overs for the blanket).

Then I decided that instead of mixing all the colours I would split them into two groups.  As you can see below.

2017-02-06-14-36-11

And now I’ve sewn in all the ends on the red/pink group its ready for me to piece into a blanket.

2017-01-27-14-08-23

I’m thinking about how best to join them – with a dark colour? or a pale colour?  Maybe I’ll do a bit more playing around before I decide.  I’m drawn to either white (or a creamy colour), or something really dark (navy? black?).  This could go either way.

I think this one may be a present for someone (I’ll have to check first with her parents whether these colours work for her, but they’re the colours I always associate with her, and they go with her name).  If not, it will be my ‘garden blanket’.   The other one (greens, blues) is for our spare bedroom, which gets used quite a lot these days.

And then I have the twine I bought in a sale last year to make a basket or two, building on the 3-d crochet I practiced with Emma on the workshop back in October.

2017-02-06-14-36-21

Meanwhile I’m still enjoying other people’s colour play.  (All photos below courtesy of Malcolm).

lredit-1050492

lredit-1050509

lredit-1050497

lredit-1050507

lredit-1050488

lredit-1050493

(We’ve been to Lille – more of that in another post).

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in Craft, Gap year, Inspirations, Travels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Playing with colour

  1. Sam says:

    Did you step inside la droguerie? Such enticement. Gorgeous colours. I think your lovely ‘pink’ blanket would look good with charcoal grey.

    Like

  2. plot34 says:

    A colourful post for a dull, grey day. I love those pink and red colour combinations.

    Like

  3. Marian says:

    Wow — you’ve been busy, Deborah! All those squares!!! I can see either navy or cream looking beautiful with the red/pink blanket. (And this post reminds me — did the blankets you made and brought to the Bath City Farm sell yet?)

    Your photos are lovely as always — I love the colour in them as well 🙂 .

    The cover of The London Garden Book to the left of your twine so intrigued me I had to Google it. It looks like it would be an inspirational read…

    Like

    • Well spotted! – the London Garden book was a present from one of my sons, its got all sorts of places in it I didn’t know about and lots I already knew. A great book for inspiration for new walks/explorations, especially in bits of London I don’t already know.
      Some of the blankets have sold, some are still in the little shop there. I’ve sold quite a few of the mobile phone covers I knitted too (sock wool, so very colourful and patterned).

      Like

  4. I am undecided as to whether I have good colour sense or not. I think I’m not adventurous that way. Does it develop with practice?

    Like

    • I suppose it depends what you mean by ‘good’ colour sense. I spent much of my life hiding in dark colours before realising that (a) I love colour, and (b) I don’t have to worry what anyone else thinks provided I love it. So I play around with different combinations in my clothes and everything else, and gradually realise that some I really like and others are a bit more meh. Often I get inspired by what I observe others doing too.
      I guess what has developed with practice for me is enjoying it and the confidence not to worry what anyone else thinks.
      Maybe give it a go?

      Like

  5. great colours! It would make me happy just to see all those crocheted squares in piles, even if they never became a blanket.

    Like

  6. Thank you for stopping by my blog and for your comment and kind thoughts and words. I am glad that I have now also found your blog and will be reading along, hope to see you again! Thank you. Amy

    Like

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

