Just playing around (and a request!)

After finishing the last big (crochet) blanket I felt like just playing around a bit.  So I got out all the odds and ends of blanket yarn and started on a small ‘granny stripe’ blanket using Lucy’s online tutorial (Attic24).

I didn’t want to make a full size blanket, so I made a starting chain that I thought about right for a cot blanket / knee rug / small throw.

Then I kept going till I thought it looked about big enough.

And added a border.

(The colours below aren’t very true, but do at least give a flavour).

 

 

 

 

Lucy’s tutorials are so easy to follow.  For this project I learnt how to start and do ‘granny stripes’, and tried out a new-to-me border (though I’m not sure that turned out quite how it’s meant to be). an easy, quick thing to make.  I’m very pleased with it.

I’d like to make some more of these blankets to sell to raise money for the Farm – but to do this I need to ask people to send me their oddments of Stylecraft Special DK.

I wonder if anyone would do it?  I suppose the only way to find out is to ask.  So, here goes: I’m asking!

If you have any bits and pieces of Stylecraft Special DK (anything 10 grams and over), if you could post them to me (Deborah) c/o Bath City Farm, Kelston View, Bath BA2 1NW.  I’ll do the rest!

All the proceeds of sale will go directly to Bath City Farm funds, probably towards a major fundraising project in the autumn.  More of which later in the year, I hope.

 

 

 

 

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in Community, Craft, Frugal, Retirement, Uncategorized, Whatever next? and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

