In the time of the virus: day 49

So.  Today was definitely a rest day, not least of all because I only managed to get a few hours sleep last night.  I’m glad we didn’t have another long walk planned.

As it turned out, it was a good day for generally pottering around the house catching up with a few things, and a short local walk to make sure that I maintain the good effect on my lymph leg of all the walking this week.

We also had our Sunday coffee trip – this time to the Black Forest, somewhere we were meant to visit later this summer but clearly that won’t happen now.  So a virtual trip is the next best thing.

One of the loveliest things I did today was to watch a video of one of the farm workers feeding all the animals at Bath City Farm, as part of a virtual event organised by Country Living Magazine UK.  She is a natural!  and it was filmed in good weather.  It helped make up for the loss of all the time we would normally have spent doing things at the farm.  You can watch it here if you like.  It’s a really nice 15 minute watch, and I’m sure you’ll leave it understanding why I’m so passionate about the farm.

I’ve been reflecting on what I want to take away from the past 49 days (and this week in particular), as tomorrow will be a return to ‘ordinary life’ (ie the extraordinary life that is the new normal).  Which will see me make some changes, and keep some things going.

I hope you’re ok, and finding ways to cope with whatever life has thrown at you right now.  I know that’s different for each of us.  See you tomorrow xx

 

 

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in Do what you can with what you have, In the time of the virus, Local, Reflections on life (and death), Travels, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.