Or maybe not??!

Perhaps I was a little hasty in declaring myself (twice, no less!) to be ‘back on track’.  Because there we were, just starting our first full weekend ‘off duty’, when oldest son rang to say he thought he might have appendicitis.

2015-03-01 19.20.30

Sure enough, later that day we heard that he had been admitted to hospital through A and E for an appendectomy.  So now here I am unexpectedly in Greenwich, spending a couple of days keeping him company while his partner is out at work.

But we’ve made the most of our time together.  We improvised and he (re)learnt to knit.  With these: some spare sock wool (never leave home without it!), and a pair of chopsticks.  In return he has cooked me a delicious Chinese-style vegetable and chicken noodle soup.  So the chopsticks were doubly useful.

2015-03-03 14.05.01

We also spent time poring over old OS maps of the area (we both love maps).  Fascinating to see how it has changed and developed.  It’s easy to forget that this current phase of rapid and massive physical change around here is nothing new – it’s been going on since the mid 19th century at least.  Around here you can see from the maps that there was dramatic and rapid change between 1867 and 1894.  And the Deptford where my parents-in-laws grew up in the 1920s and 1930s would have been different again.

2015-03-03 14.05.41

As well as oldest son’s company, I have had the pleasure of several walks around London.  On the way here, from Paddington to Westminster through Hyde Park, Green Park and St James’ Park.  Oh the lovely spring flowers, the blue sky, the people out enjoying themselves.  Enough to make the spirit sing!

2015-02-01 12.39.532015-03-01 12.22.36

2015-03-01 12.24.56

2015-03-01 12.31.02

Then several opportunities to explore along the Thames and Deptford Creek, including several visits to my very favourite local cafe. But that’s another post, another day:  too much to show and tell.

And yes, thanks for asking, he’s just fine.  Making a good recovery, from something that in other parts of the world could be (would be?) life threatening.

Thank goodness for our wonderful NHS.  All the staff there were lovely. kind, careful and caring. Just the best.

About deborah @ the magic jug

Now I've passed 60 I'm still doing all sorts of things I haven't done before, as well as carrying on with the things I already love. I live a happy life with my long term love Malcolm. In my blog I explore local and low tech ideas, food, growing, making, reading, thinking, walking, and lots of other words ending in 'ing'.
This entry was posted in Craft, Local, Reflections on life (and death), Walking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read your comments. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, and I don't mind if you don't. However, I ask you to respect the 'circle time' rules made by my son's primary school teacher: make a comment, ask a question or say something nice. Thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.